organic wholemeal blueberry muffins

I found some amazing organic wholemeal flour. It comes in a cotton sack, which is what caught my eye in the first place. I’d like to be the sort of person that seeks out the organic  and always cooks with wholemeal flour, but thanks to Nigella and my DNA, I’m not.

But, when I find a fine product like the Organic Stoneground Wholemeal Plain Flour from Kialla In Queensland, I’ll gladly wave the organic flag.

I used it in a tried and tested blueberry muffin recipe. I’ve been making muffins for my son (now 14 months). He looks so cute with a fist full of muffin, which he always likes to shove whole into his mouth. He uses his hand to stop the food falling out when he puts too much in. We’ll work on table manners next year.

Ingredients

2 medium eggs (at room temperature)
250 ml of milk
6 tbsp sunflower oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
finely grated rind of 1 lemon

280 g organic wholemeal flour (or plain flour will do)
1 tbsp baking powder
pinch salt
115 g soft brown sugar

150 g frozen blueberries

Most muffin recipes ask you to sift dry ingredients, make a well and pour the mixed wet ingredients in and combine without overmixing. To save dirty dishes I simply sift the dry ingredients over the well mixed wet ingredients and combine without overmixing. It works for me.

It’s important you don’t overmix, it makes the muffins tough and the texture compact like old bread. The flour mix should be just moist, lumpy is okay, and with a few traces of flour that will disappear in the heat of the oven.

Spoon into well greased muffin tins and bake in a 200 celcius oven for 20 minutes.

About Louise

Melbourne based journalist/interactive producer who loves to cook .. and eat.
This entry was posted in muffins, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to organic wholemeal blueberry muffins

  1. Nicole says:

    Hilarious to see that I’m not the only on attracted to the Kialla range because it comes in a cotton bag! LOL

    Just going to make these…sounds good though!

  2. John says:

    I was surfing the web for just such a recipe as this, and lo and behold, the results have been delicious. I especially like your washing-up saving tip about using just one bowl. Good work all round : )

  3. Dee says:

    I made these today, and made exactly the same recipe, but with white flour (for friends), and was amazed to find that the wholewheat muffins came out bigger and fluffier and much more appealing than the white flour ones!! Fabulous recipe, thank you!

    • Kinguci says:

      Those drsteess are making me drool! I am a soft cookie kind of person, I love them right out of the oven! I’m so glad you left a comment on my blog so I found yours!

  4. dgerl says:

    Mmmm, these are delish and reasonably healthy – hooray! I only had olive oil and was a bit worried that the flavour would overwhelm but luckily the lemon rind balanced it out nicely. I will definitely make these again, thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

